clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Philadelphia Marathon Results 2011: Folisho Tuko Is Men's Champion Mariska And Kramer Is Women's Champion

The winners of the 2011 Philadelphia Marathon have reached the finish line and Folisho Tuko and Mariska Kramer have won the men's and women's division, respectively. The course was described as a race through American history according to race organizers:

From Betsy Ross's house and the Liberty Bell, through gorgeous 19th century Fairmount Park, to the hip districts of University City and Manayunk, the engrossing and beautiful landmarks along the way add a unique flavor to the experience.

Tuko finished in a time of two hours, 19 minutes, and 14 seconds to win the men's division by 23 seconds over Kevin Pool. Tuko takes home a $3,500 prize, while Pool gets $2,000 as the runner-up male finisher.

Kramer was dominant in the women's race, finishing in a time of two hours, 35 minutes and 46 seconds. Her time was almost nine minutes faster than the runner-up women's finisher Tezeta Dengersa at 2:44:05.