clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Heisman Trophy 2011: Robert Griffin III Is The Winner

After much debate over the last few weeks it became official Saturday night, as junior quarterback Robert Griffin III of Baylor University earned the 2011 Heisman Trophy. Griffin earned 405 first-place votes and a total of 1,687 total points to beat out Stanford University senior quarterback Andrew Luck, who received 247 first-place votes and totaled 1,407 points.

RG3 finished the season second in the nation in total offense 387 yards per game, passed for 36 touchdowns and 3,998 yards. RG3 also became the first Baylor Bear to win the award, which last season was given to NFL star rookie Cam Newton.


Baylor finished its season with a 9-3 overall record and will play Washington in the Alamo Bowl, Dec. 29.


Other finalists that Griffin III beat out were: running back Montee Ball (22 first-place votes) of the University of Wisconsin, defensive back Tyrann Mathieu (32) of LSU, and running back Trent Richardson (138) of the University of Alabama.