clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Philadelphia Marathon 2012 results: Michael McKeeman and Irina Mashkantceva win

Local Michael McKeeman wins the Philadelphia Marathon in impressive fashion.

Sandra Mu

Michael McKeeman and Irina Mashkantceva won the 2012 Philadelphia Marathon in the men's and women's division this weekend.

McKeeman, a local from Ardmore, Pa., won the marathon with a time of 2:17:47, besting Scott Macpherson by 43 seconds. Abiyot Endale from New York came in third and Evan Gaynor finished fourth, while Tesfaye Assefa Dube rounded out the top five in the men's race.

Mashkantceva took home the title with a time of 2:35:34, beating Veneno Sarmosova by just 19 seconds. Kate DiCamillo, hailing from Providence, R.I., came in third, with Meagan Nedlo and Heidi Peoples filing in behind her.

In the 8K run, Isaac Korir Kedikou won the men's race in 22:29, narrowly edging Samuel Ndereba of Royersford, Pa.

Kedikou and Ndereba would also finish 1-2 in the half marathon, with Ndereba trailing at the end by 50 seconds.

Washington D.C. native Misiker Demessie won the women's version of the 8K with a time of 25:46 and the half marathon at 1:11:56.

For all the times, please click here.