clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Kansas: Race Time, Starting Lineup For STP 400

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series rolls into the Kansas Speedway in Kansas City for the STP 400.

Getty Images

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series rolls into the Kansas Speedway in Kansas City for the STP 400. The race gets underway at 12:30pm eastern on FOX. Your pole sitter is A.J. Allmendinger, who scored just the second pole of his career. This also marks the first time this season a Dodge will start at the front.

Kevin Harvick qualified just .043 seconds behind Allmendinger for by far his best starting position at Kansas. This is the first time in 13 races there that he'll be starting better than 14th. Harvick says that it's indicative of how strong his team has been all season.

"Overall it's been a great year for us qualifying-wise so far," Harvick said. "The cars have been fast every week, and as soon as we put together a whole weekend without me making a mistake or things not going exactly right, I think everything's going to come together nicely"

Dale Earnhardt Jr. also a reversal of fortune at Kansas this week. He'll start in 7th after qualifying no better than 18th in his last four races at Kansas.

Missouri native Carl Edwards, who counts Kansas City as his home track, says that he'd be more excited to win at this trick than any other on the circuit.

"There would be no bigger win on the circuit," Edwards said. "If I had to choose between winning one race throughout the year, that would be the one I would pick. The amount of pride that I would have -- winning that close to home and in front of so many people that are friends of mine and people that have helped me -- that would be huge."

Edwards will start at 22nd. Here's the full top ten.

  1. AJ Allmendinger
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Mark Martin
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Sam Hornish Jr.

Other notable include Jimmie Johnson in 15th, points leader Greg Biffle in 17th, Jeff Gordon in 20th and Tony Stewart 23rd.