clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Playoff: University Presidents Sign Off On Four-Team Seeded Playoff Starting In 2014-2015

College football will have a playoff on the FBS level after college university presidents voted yes on a four-team seeded playoff presented by BCS conference commissioners in a meeting in Washington, D.C. The presidents announced that they approved the deal in a press conference that was televised on ESPN on Tuesday evening. The first season for the playoff will be in 2014-2015.

The presidents and conference commissioners would not comment on some of the details of the playoff such as the name of the playoff, the way to select the four teams for the playoff and which bowl games will serve as playoff hosting sites. The presidents and conference commissioners did say that the deal they agreed to will extend for 12 years, eliminating any talk of playoff expansion for the time being. SEC commissioner Mike Slive did however confirm that eight and sixteen team playoffs were discussed but do not "conform to the academic calendar."