clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

PGA Championship 2012 Winner: Rory McIlroy Sets Record In Eight-Stroke Victory

Rory McIlroy won the 2012 PGA Championship at the Ocean Course at Kiawah Island Golf Resort in South Carolina on Sunday.

McIlroy finished 13-under-par for the tournament and was 6-under on Sunday. Defending PGA Championship winner Keegan Bradley finished his tournament at 4-under-par and was tied for third. David Lynn finished second at 5-under-par for the tournament. Tiger Woods was a distant finisher in a tie for 11th place, at 2-under-par.

McIlroy's win was his second major championship victory. McIlroy also won the 2011 U.S. Open. McIlroy secured a large victory in both tournaments by playing his best golf on the weekend. His eight-stroke victory in a PGA Championship is a new record, breaking that of Jack Nicklaus (7) in 1980.

For a complete live leaderboard, visit

For more on the 2012 PGA Championship, please be sure to check out our Golf Hub and SB Nation Philly for all the latest news and updates.