clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State Defeats Penn State For Second Straight Big Ten Tournament Title

Indianapolis, IN (Sports Network) – William Buford led the way with 18 points and Jon Diebler finished with 15 points and six rebounds, as top-ranked Ohio State won the Big Ten Tournament title with a 71-60 decision over Penn State.

Freshman sensation Jared Sullinger posted a double-double with 15 points and 11 boards for No. 1 seeded Ohio State (32-2), which beat Minnesota in last year’s Big Ten championship game. Diebler made 3-of-5 from three-point range and added six rebounds.

The Buckeyes, who were playing in their fifth Big Ten title game in the last six seasons, earned an automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament. But as the No. 1 team in the country, they were going no matter what.

Talor Battle ended with a game-high 24 points for sixth-seeded Penn State (19-14), which had downed Indiana, Wisconsin and Michigan State to earn its first-ever appearance in the conference title game. Jeff Brooks was the only other Nittany Lion to score in double-figures, finishing with 19 points and six boards.