clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Slam Dunk Contest 2013: Participants, start time, TV schedule and more

Two former champs, along with some new blood, among this year's participants.

Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

The NBA is hoping more participants and a slightly modified format will lead to more creativity in the 2013 NBA Slam Dunk Contest at 8:30 p.m. ET Saturday on TNT.

Instead of five participants, this year's field consists of six players -- three from the Eastern Conference and three from the Western Conference.

More: SB Nation's All Star Weekend coverage

The participants for the East are Gerald Green of the Indiana Pacers, who won the contest in 2007, and James 'Flight' White of the New York Knicks, a legendary dunker with a massive vertical leap. Terrence Ross of the Toronto Raptors is the third Eastern Conference player in the field.

Defending champion Jeremy Evans of the Utah Jazz, who won last year with a dunk that included catching two ball mid-flight and jumping over Gordon Hayward, gives this year's field two former champions. Eric Bledsoe of the Los Angeles Clippers and Denver Nuggets forward Kenneth Faried, the MVP in Friday's Rising Stars Challenge, are the other Western Conference participants.

Where: Toyota Center, Houston, Texas

When: Saturday, Feb. 16, 8:30 p.m. ET