Jody Shelley was hit with a 5 minute boarding call after this hit on Adam McQuaid in the second period of last night's win over the Boston Bruins. Tomorrow, he'll have a hearing with the NHL's disciplinary panel to discuss any further action the league might take. Actually, as we learned with Danny Briere, "hearing" and "discussion" are probably the wrong words. They'll make up their mind beforehand and inform Shelley of their decision rather wait for an explanation.
I didn’t go in on my own. I felt like I got pushed. I don’t know. I’m not sure. I have to take a look at it, I guess," McQuaid said. "When I was coming off the ice, he was waiting for me there. He said he was sorry and he didn’t mean to, so just kind of got to take what he says."
Shelley didn't really even "hit" McQuaid. In fact, both players seem to go down with McQuaid obviously absorbing most of the impact with the boards. It was a nasty looking hit for sure, but does that mean it was intentionally dirty?
"I don’t intend to go out there and fall on top of a guy on the end boards, especially on an icing like that," Shelley told reporters on Saturday night. "It was a quick play and I'm trying to get to the puck and get around the guy. I lost my edge. Next thing, we’re in the boards together. I am glad he is OK. It's one of those things. You don’t want to see a guy laying on the ice. The referee had to make that call. I was disappointed that it happened.
"I caught him as he went by and I apologized. I didn't mean to do that. He acknowledged me. I was glad to see him back out there."