clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 NHL Skills Competition Events And Lineups

Tonight's NHL Skills Competition consists of six events. There's the fastest skater, breakaway challenge, accuracy shooting, skills challenge relay, hardest shot and the elimination shootout. The first event of the night is the fastest skater competition and will feature two teams of six, each including a goalie. "Team Staal" features  Michael Grabner, Mike Green, Ryan Kesler, Marc Staal, Kris Letang, and Cam Ward.

Team Lidstrom will feature Duncan Keith, Taylor Hall, Matt Duchene, Martin St. Louis, Steven Stamkos, & Tim Thomas.

Then comes the Breakaway challenge (how is Claude Giroux not in this?) where two teams of 3 go for the most stylish breakaway move.

Team Staal 
P.K. SubbanMontreal Canadiens
Corey PerryAnaheim Ducks
Alex OvechkinWashington Capitals
Carey Price - Montreal Canadiens
Team Lidstrom
Evgeny Dadonov – Florida Panthers
Anze KopitarLos Angeles Kings
Loui ErikssonDallas Stars
Marc-Andre Fleury - Pittsburgh Penguins

Up next is one of the older and more well known events, which is the accuracy shooting competition where players aim to break plates fashioned in corners of the goal.

Team Staal 
Rick NashColumbus Blue Jackets
Daniel SedinVancouver Canucks
Eric StaalCarolina Hurricanes
Logan CoutureSan Jose Sharks
Patrick SharpChicago Blackhawks
Ryan Kesler – Vancouver Canucks
Passer: Dan Boyle – San Jose Sharks
Passer: Paul StastnyColorado Avalanche

Team Lidstrom
Brad Richards – Dallas Stars
Phil KesselToronto Maple Leafs
Patrick Kane – Chicago Blackhawks
Jonathan Toews – Chicago Blackhawks
Martin HavlatMinnesota Wild
Derek StepanNew York Rangers
Passer: Nicklas Lidstrom – Red Wings
Passer: Danny BrierePhiladelphia Flyers

Then comes the all new Skills challenge relay. For a description check here, but there's 32 guys in this so I'm not going to list them all.

The hardest shot competition is up next and is probably the classic event of the whole competition.

Team Staal 
Zdeno CharaBoston Bruins
Alex Ovechkin – Washington Capitals
David BackesSt. Louis Blues
Tyler Seguin – Boston Bruins
Rick Nash – Columbus Blue Jackets
Patrick Sharp – Chicago Blackhawks

Team Lidstrom
Anze Kopitar – Los Angeles Kings
Steven Stamkos – Tampa Bay Lightning
Dustin ByfuglienAtlanta Thrashers
Brent Burns - Minnesota Wild
Shea WeberNashville Predators
Cam Fowler – Anaheim Ducks

Finally, there's the Elimination Shootout where every All Star takes turns at penalty shots and each guy who misses is elimination. The last man standing is the winner.