clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Placido Polanco Wins Gold Glove Award

Phillies third baseman Placido Polanco won a Gold Glove award for best fielding third baseman in the National League. Polanco beat out the Cardinal's Dan Descalso and the Giants' Pablo Sandoval for the honor.

Polanco is the second player in MLB history to win Gold Gloves at two positions. He won the award twice in the American League at second base for the Tigers.

More fun Polanco facts and the complete list of NL Gold Glove Winners after the jump.

Our Phillies blog, The Good Phight, celebrated the award with some more cool facts:

As John Finger reports, with Polanco's award the Phillies have now received 15 of the 55 National League Gold Glove's at third base since the Award's inception (Mike Schmidt: 10; Scott Rolen: 4).

Shane Victorino did *not* win a Gold Glove, ending his three year reign as the NL's top defensive center fielder. Below is a complete list of the winners.

National League Gold Glove Winners:

P - Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
C - Yadier Molina, Cardinals
1B - Joey Votto, Reds
2B - Brandon Phillips, Reds
3B - Placido Polanco, Phillies
SS - Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies
LF - Gerardo Parra, Diamondbacks
CF - Matt Kemp, Dodgers
RF - Andre Ethier, Dodgers