clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Phillies SS Jimmy Rollins wins Gold Glove

New, 1 comment

Phillies SS Jimmy Rollins won his fourth Gold Glove award on Tuesday.

Bob Levey

Philadelphia Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins is the National League's Gold Glove winner at shortstop for the fourth time in his career, and the first since 2009.

Rollins beat out the Reds' Zack Cozart, the Marlins' Jose Reyes and the Nationals' Ian Desmond to win the award. Rollins led all full-time NL shortstops with a .978 fielding percentage, despite committing 13 errors -- his most since 2003. Advanced metrics weren't quite as kind to Rollins; his -4 total zone rating ranked seventh among players who appeared in at least 100 games at shortstop.

Here is the full list of 2012 Gold Glove winners:

National League

C: Yadier Molina

1B: Adam LaRoche

2B: Darwin Barney

SS: Jimmy Rollins

3B: Chase Headley

LF: Carlos Gonzalez

CF: Andrew McCutchen

RF: Jason Heyward

P: Mark Buehrle

American League

C: Matt Wieters

1B: Mark Teixeira

2B: Robinson Cano

SS: J.J. Hardy

3B: Adrian Beltre

LF: Alex Gordon

CF: Adam Jones

RF: Josh Reddick

P: Jake Peavy, Jeremy Hellickson