clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Home Run Derby 2012: Lineup, TV Schedule, Start Time And More

The 2012 Home Run Derby will captivate much of the nation on Monday evening as eight of the great stars in baseball come together in Kansas City at Kauffman Stadium.

Matt Kemp of the Los Angeles Dodgers and 2011 derby champ Robinson Cano of the New York Yankees were chosen as captains for their respective leagues. They have each chosen three players to help them represent what both undoubtedly feel is the superior circuit.

Cano has an absolutely loaded squad with Prince Fielder of the Detroit Tigers, Mark Trumbo of theLos Angeles Angels, and Jose Bautista of the Toronto Blue Jays. The firepower that Mr. Cano is bringing to the table is favored by many to take the day.

However, Kemp has taken on the likes of Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen, St. Louis Cardinals outfielder Carlos Beltran and Carlos Gonzalez of the Colorado Rockies. Without question the NL team will provide stiff competition.

The rules are simple: each player gets 10 outs (any pitch swung at that isn't a home run). The top four totals will move on from the first round, then the top two combined totals will go into the finals, where the slate is wiped clean and the best round wins it all.


Time: 8:00 p.m. ET

For more on the Home Run Derby, please be sure to check out our blog The Good Phight, SB Nation and SB Nation Philly for all the latest news and updates.