clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB Home Run Derby 2012: Prince Fielder Wins Title Over Jose Bautista

Prince Fielder won the 2012 MLB Home Run Derby on Monday night, belting 12 home runs in the final round to take the title over Jose Bautista. Fielder also won the competition in 2009.

The American League dominated the competition. The Top 3 players after Round 2 were all from the AL. Bautista was tied with Mark Trumbo after two rounds at 13 home runs apiece. Bautista won a swing-off to advance to the finals.

Carlos Beltran of the St. Louis Cardinals was the National League's only representative to advance to the second round. He finished with 12 total homers. NL captain Matt Kemp of the Los Angeles Dodgers was eliminated in the first round after hitting just one home run. Carlos Gonzalez and Andrew McCutchen hit four homers apiece.

For more on the Home Run Derby, please be sure to check out our blog The Good Phight, SB Nation and SB Nation Philly for all the latest news and updates.