clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big East Expansion: Five Teams To Be Added Wednesday, Join Conference In 2013, According To Report

The Big East will add Boise State, San Diego State, Houston, Central Florida and SMU on Wednesday, according to a CBS Sports report. The five teams will reportedly join the conference in 2013. 

According to a Newark Star-Ledger report, Air Force and Navy are expected to join the conference at a later date.

Boise State and San Diego State are reportedly expected to join the conference for football only, while Houston, Central Florida and SMU would join for all sports. After a number of high-profile defects from the conference, including Syracuse, Pittsburgh and West Virginia, the Big East is aiming to salvage its reputation as a major conference and maintain its automatic qualifier status in the BCS.

Big East Commissioner John Marinatto has said the conference would like to feature 12 teams divided into two six-team divisions. The proposed changes would form a West Division and East Division, according to the Star-Ledger.

Under those plans, Boise State, San Diego State, Houston, SMU, Air Force and, possibly, Louisville would form the West Division. Rutgers, Connecticut, Cincinnati, South Florida, UCF and Navy would comprise the East.