clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Atlantic 10 Tournament 2012: Temple Coach Fran Dunphy Wins A-10 Coach Of The Year, Three Owls On All A-10 Teams

As the Temple Owls were preparing for the Atlantic 10 Tournament, they found out on Monday their head coach Fran Dunphy was named the conference's Coach of the Year (via CSN Philly).

Dunphy was recognized by the conference's coaches as the top coach as Temple won the A-10 regular season crown outright for the first time in 22 years. This is the second time in the past three seasons that Dunphy was named A-10 Coach of the Year.

Dunphy said about the honor

"As far as my own situation, I'm appreciative of the vote of confidence by my fellow coaches. They certainly did not have to do that. It was a stroke of good luck. It's never the head coach; it's the players and assistants that do all the work and we take the lead. You certainly can't do anything without good people around you."

In addition to Dunphy's honor, three Owls made All-Atlantic 10 teams. Ramone Moore was named to the first-team All-A-10 team while Khalif Wyatt and Juan Fernandez were named to the second and third teams, respectively.

The Owls begin conference tournament play on March 9 against the winner of the Duquesne-UMass game.

For more on the A-10 tournament stay tuned to our StoryStream. For more on Temple basketball, visit our team page.