clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Villanova's Corey Fisher, Temple's Lavoy Allen Make Naismith Watch List

The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced their preseason Naismith Trophy watch list yesterday. The Naismith Trophy recognizes the men's basketball player of the year and two local schools are represented. Both Viilanova guard Corey Fisher and Temple forward Lavoy Allen made the list. Duke has three players on the list, which is the most of any school.

The list will be whittled down to the 30 players in late February. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.  

Previous winners with local ties include St. Joe's Jameer Nelson in 2004 and current 76ers Evan Turner (2010) & Elton Brand (1999).

The Naismith Award has become the most prestigious award in all of college basketball, recognizing the
Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year, Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coach
of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and
contribution to the game.